Robyn Hitchcock, Syd Barrett, And Some Words

2 thoughts on “Robyn Hitchcock, Syd Barrett, And Some Words”

  1. He’s a treasure, isn’t he? I’ve seen him in concert a few times over the years. In the late ’80s, when I got my first answering machine (an obstinate and balky Code-A-Phone with one of those tiny cassettes), I used Robyn’s “I Got A Message For You” as the greeting. When people complained, I switched it to “Point It At Gran.”

    Don’t point it at me,
    Point it at Gran!
    Well it could be a firehose,
    Or it could be a flan!
    Now some people are happy,
    And some people are bored!
    And some people are left,
    And completely ignored!

  2. Music fit for ansaphones…that’s a subject I could happily run with for far too long (if we’re limiting ourselves to Hitchcock tracks, I would have glibly picked the first few lines of ‘How Do You Work This Thing?’). But yes, certainly, Robyn should be on stamps.

Leave a Reply

