Reinventing The Joy Division Original

5 thoughts on “Reinventing The Joy Division Original”

  1. You might need to confirm when you’ll be growing weary of this song…

    …although you like this version? I happened to be on that Twitter thing the cool kids are all on when the band played this on TV, and the enthusiasm was sadly lacking (“sacrilegious” was one word used).

  2. Some cover versions are good (e.g. arab strap – ‘you shook me all night long’ aztec camera ‘jump’ etc.), some are bad. This cover, from a personal point of view, I consider quite dreadful. Sounds like an awful dirge to me.

    1. Ha! I was lurking on Twitter when this track was played on the Jools Holland TV show, and it received a considerable bashing from the logged-in pop kids.The attraction for me must lie in the whole folk aesthetic; I’m a sucker for it.

      Totally agree with your Arab Strap reference; both Aidan and Malc have a considerable attachment to cover versions. I particularly like Aidan’s version of Bananarama’s ‘Cruel Summer’, and Malcolm doing ‘One Of Us’ by Joan Osbourne.

Leave a Reply

