Tangents: Vaudeville, The Alien Franchise, And ‘Tainted Love’

4 thoughts on “Tangents: Vaudeville, The Alien Franchise, And ‘Tainted Love’”

  1. Gloria Jones eh? This is the version I heard before the Soft Cell one. For some reason I thought it was that other old drag queen, Sylvester that had had a hit with it. Still have the Soft Cell single (+the 12″ version; and a couple of others including the Mutant Moments EP). I like when it comes on the radio when I’m driving… a good tune. As for Boy George -whom I’ve always found to be very witty- I always remember his little anecdote about when a homosexual said to him in a bar: “It’s because of people like you that I got beaten up for wearing a Gay Pride badge” and Boy George replying “Stop whining, I get beaten up for wearing a Mother’s Pride one.” (or summat similar).
    Danny La Rue ever do a cover of Tainted Love?

    1. Alas my parents weren’t ‘with it’ enough to mainline decent pseudo-Motown stuff when I was wee. So Soft Cell on an otherwise indistinct suburban English evening it was. Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret still works as an album. The record that went under the Marc and the Mambas banner is even better. Future blog material me thinks.

      1. I was lucky to have parents that listened to everything (except Leonard Cohen whom they didn’t like at all) from Nat King Cole to Hank Williams to Bowie to The Jesus & Mary Chain. Still have the vinyl of Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret. Even have a couple of sets at Flickr where I use the ‘Non-Stop Erotic’ bit as a set title (e.g. http://www.flickr.com/photos/japaneseforms/sets/72157627267328513/ )
        Never got into Marc’s solo career but I believe I maybe have one of his early EPs.

Leave a Reply

