The Impact Of The Vinyl Stash: The Most Significant Albums Of 1997, Part One

15 thoughts on “The Impact Of The Vinyl Stash: The Most Significant Albums Of 1997, Part One”

  1. Twitter entry:
    Peter Murray ‏@PeterMurray500
    @lazerguidedblog any 3 of these 4? 1)..we are floating in space 2)Magical world of the Strands 3)I can hear the heart..(YLT) 4)Radiator(SFA)

  2. Well if we get 3 from 4 like Pete, I’ll say Ladies & Gents, OK Computer and The Boatman’s Call or Brighten The Corners. Not sure of your dance stance otherwise I’d have put Daft Punk’s Homework as an easy 3rd.

  3. Wow! Some great records here! You already know my feelings on how great a year 1997 was for music. Funny you should mention Everclear. I, too, was a closet fan for a few years. As for guessing the next three, the best I can do is guarantee that “Ladies and gentlemen” will be one of them.

  4. Thanks for your entries. So far 2 out of 3 is the highest score – you’re all missing one album in particular that simply soars (although Ladies & Gentlemen – which everyone has guessed – is obviously part of the package).

    More from Twitter:

    17h Nicole ‏@wereallmadheres
    @lazerguidedblog Oasis, Be here now, Pavement, brighten the corners, Spiritualized ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space. My top 97.Elliot Smith, The Verve, Radiohead, Portishead, Bjork. Fuck. Great year for music. I can’t decide.

  5. I forgot, my top album of 1997 has to be Time Out Of Mind, Bob Dylan. So I’d go for that plus Dig Your Own Hole and Ladies and Gentleman.

  6. Hmmm I loved 96 and 97 I get confused what was out -being a huge radiohead and bjork lover I will obviously say ok computer and homogenic – I love how both of their music has evolved through the decades. Also DAft punk homework still listen to that often

    X

  7. …and what have I taken from all this 1997 nostalgia? An overwhelming urge to listen to my BBC Sporting Themes LP featuring that Darts tune (aka Cranes by the Douglas Wood Group). Cue sinister flanging…

Leave a Reply

