Feedback! Dissonance! Adjective! The Most Significant Albums Of 2003, Part Three

3 thoughts on “Feedback! Dissonance! Adjective! The Most Significant Albums Of 2003, Part Three”

  1. Sweet lord! For all my efforts! All my persuasion for you to reassess the SFA back catalogue, and you stab me through the heart with a cutting, heartless, clinical singular jab……….I will take the Pepsi Challenge on any of these albums versus ‘Phantom Power’ and I am well acquainted with the majority. I also beg to differ regarding the approach of the Outkast release. I personally think this was an artistic decision rather than a commercial record company one. Granted, they have not released an Outkast album since, but there is much more involvement on each other’s respective release than a simple guested Big Boi or Andre 3000 vocal. Continued respect for fantastic writing and your continued commitment to the cause. The regularity and quality of your posts is quite remarkable!

    Caveat to Outkast remarks is that I am 4 pints of Guinness down and shooting from the hip. Non contestable comments in court, albeit my instinct tells me I am right………..at the moment!

    1. Ha! Excellent comment. And I am of course hanging my head in shame at yet another SFA oversight.

      I think you’re probably correct re: the Outkast dynamic around the time of the last album. Took two years to record with a fair degree of cross-pollination between each half – certainly wasn’t a cyncial record label ploy to sneak this out as a bone fide Outkast release when it was never intended to be so. It does feel like one, however – which is the story I’m sticking to.

  2. Not replying to the substance of your piece, but one thing that is increasingly turning me off finding about new popular music is that I can’t bear the adjectival clichés. There’s an article in this somewhere, and I keep meaning to write it, but is a melody by a melancholic singer-songwriter ever anything other than “haunting” or guitar-playing that uses a lot of minor 7th chords much less than “angular”? One would hope writers about music – present company excepted – would work harder to find a bright, young vocabulary that distinguishes them from something written by Smash Hits, but perhaps this tells you all you need to know about our modern cultural stagnation? (I fear that the use of the term “cultural stagnation” may also be a cliché, but I never said I was perfect).

    By the way, if there is other contemporary writing about music that has some vitality to it, I’d love to hear about it. And also if there’s already an article somewhere that I can laugh approvingly at which lists all these various rock hack clichés in full, I’d love to read it, and it would save me the time of writing it.

Leave a Reply

