This Heart-Shaped Box – ‘Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)’ Revisited

3 thoughts on “This Heart-Shaped Box – ‘Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)’ Revisited”

  1. Now, Scritti Polliti; that was a good band… Up until around 1984. Fell in love with them as soon as I first heard them on the NME’s C81 tape http://www.flickr.com/photos/japaneseforms/4663384930/ … Anyhow, I (think) I still have the ‘Sweet Dreams…’ album… A friend had introduced me to the band when they were known as The Tourists but I wasn’t too keen until your “must have” album was released. In fact I got it right after seeing them on a Belgian TV show long before the went mega. Couldn’t listen to it nowadays. Whenever I’m in the car and ‘Sweet Dreams…’ comes on the radio; I hastily turn it off. Talk about overkill.
    Otherwise, I can still listen to wee bits on the ‘1984’ soundtrack.

    1. The 1984 soundtrack – now, that’s an interesting record. Interesting back story as well; two competing OSTs ended up being comissioned.

      In fact the entire movie is double plus good

  2. Two soundtracks? I vaguely recall that there was some controversy at the time… Had a peep at the Wikipedia page to check the details… Maybe, one day, they’ll re-release a ‘director’s cut’ version in Europe of the film with the original music and a decent book on the film to go with it.

    “However, the MGM DVD release of the film in the UK in 2004 features the mixed Eurythmics/Muldowney soundtrack on the English- and French-language audio tracks as well as the original desaturated visuals.” (Wikipedia)

    Yahoo!
    That’s the copy I have!

Leave a Reply

