The Twitter Hive Mind Cure Album Breakdown

9 thoughts on “The Twitter Hive Mind Cure Album Breakdown”

  1. You can add me to the list of those that disagree with your 1989 split opinion. While I agree that their best material was produced pre-1990, I am glad that I got to see them perform all of that same 1979-1989 material live this summer at Osheaga in 2+ hour set. Smith doesn’t look like himself these days but he still sounds great. As for the four best Scottish albums, I’ll have to put thinking cap on… almost too much to choose from.

    1. One of the best gigs I was lucky to have attended was The Cure. 2002, maybe 2003, in a 100 capacity, invite-only venue. Simply stunning.

      I think that any “They should have split” argument is based upon the theory of diminishing returns. “Wild Mood Swings” in particular is horrible. Scarred the legacy. But I’m old and cranky – views should be taken with a pinch of salt.

  2. For me the top albums are the N°s 1, 2, & 4. I don’t even know if I have the ‘Disintegration’ album or not… I might be in a box with the others but I really don’t know… Possible as I was still buying the band’s EPs back then. Anyhow, the
    first time I saw The Cure was 1979 at a nearby youth centre. We were about 50 punters at that gig and (as I recall) it was a bit amateurish but still very enjoyable. Saw the band 3 more times after that -in their heyday, so to speak- and all in the period before “Fat Bob” became “Fat Bob.” So you can imagine how long ago that was. Otherwise saw him later when he was playing with Siouxie Banshee. That would have been in the mid-80s or a wee bit later on. It was in some bloody stadium and the whole thing was dreadful… Maybe not music-wise but I hate standing in mud and having to queue for ages to either pish or have a beer.

  3. 1. Primal Scream – Screamadelica (1991)
    2. James Yorkston & The Athletes – Just Beyond The River (2004)
    3. Cosmic Rough Riders – Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine (2000)
    4. Bert Jansch – Bert Jansch (1965)

  4. BOC – Music Has The Right to Children
    The Associates – 4th Drawer Down
    Mogwai – Young Team
    Orange Juice – Rip It Up

    No particular order

    Plus About 50 More… Easily.

    Incredibly difficult choice… Had to leave out Fire Engines, Win, Vaselines, Arab Strap, TFC, & JAMC among others…
    Once you start to think about them I was a bit surprised that there have been so many good albums released by Scottish band over the 3 decades.

    1. Agreed. Staggering difficult to chose from; I’ve been ruminating upon my top four since this painful endeavour was taken on. Young Team was my final exclusion, just nudging Peloton out of the top five.

      For the record:

      Malcolm Middleton / A Brighter Beat
      King Creosote / KC Rules OK (albeit partly for sentimental reasons)
      Dawn Of The Replicants / One Head, Two Arms, Two Legs

      and

      Up for a Bit with The Pastels (of course)

Leave a Reply

