And All Those Wistful Patterns: LGM vs Whirlpool By Chapterhouse

4 thoughts on “And All Those Wistful Patterns: LGM vs Whirlpool By Chapterhouse”

  1. I used to have this one recorded on a C90 on the either side of Blur’s “Leisure”. I later purchased both on CD. Now I have the latter on vinyl and looking for the other. I’m a sucker perhaps but I do love these two albums a lot.

    1. Nothing “sucker” about it. I’ll be honest and admit that both records you mention haven’t dated all that well; ‘Falling Down’ from Whirlpool summons the odd cringe, whilst Leisure contains deep lows as well as the odd high (eg. ‘Sing’). But that isn’t the point; when an album is so important to who we are and who we were, I’d suggest owning as many copies as possible is a default setting.

  2. Your descriptive writing is so palpable, LGM, and much of your material seems to have impacted me in much the same way it impacted you and I especially enjoy your columns on re-evaluating said musical documents. I don’t know if I should do the same or if you’ve saved me the time (I can basically hear all the juicy details of “If You Want Me” in my head as I write, and I’ve been trying to prove for years to certain “friends?” that it’s a long-lost, gorgeous Spacemen 3 song). Sounds like I’m about four years older than you — I was busy skipping a lot of university classes, deep into all things shoegaze (which seems like a slightly more questionable endeavor with each passing year, lol) in 1991 working in record store after record store over the years until finally owning my own niche boutique which unfortunately had to close in 2006 due to changes in the music industry and general economy at the time. I’ve been reading this here blog for about a year now. Keep making me smile.

    1. Indeed; life is all about records. The soundtracks to who we are and what we’ve done, never truly to leave us. I’ll save the essay about the dynamism of relationship between record and listener for another time (i.e. that’s the usual subject matter here, as you’ve no doubt noticed) – suffice to say that you don’t need to be a genius to figure out why I spend far too long at the keyboard, making trite statements concerning old records.

      And there’s nothing embarrassing about shoegaze – oh no. As with any genre there’s stuff that works, stuff that doesn’t, and items that once shimmered against the shoreline, only to wilt when listening in a modern context. There’s a great deal of excellent shoegaze/dream-pop emerging from the U.S. – certainly not an oeuvre that’s been forgotten. Plus, I’m flying to London for the Slowdive gig in December – no way is that embarrassing 😉

      Thanks for reading, and the kind words.

Leave a Reply

