You. Yes, YOU! Now taking votes for your album of 2014

9 thoughts on “You. Yes, YOU! Now taking votes for your album of 2014”

  1. Right, here goes:

    1 A Winged Victory for the Sullen – Atomos 2 Bob Mould – Beauty & Ruin 3 Mogwai – Rave Tapes 4 Dakota Suite – There Is Calm To Be Done

  2. Subject to change – and I reserve the right to post a completely different list when I come to do my own year-end roundup – but:

    1) Benji – Sun Kil Moon
    2) My Favourite Faded Fantasy – Damien Rice
    3) Courting Strong – Martha
    4) Days of Abandon – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

  3. I never rank them when I do my own list, but if I had to pick 4 out of the 20 I’ve got:
    1. Plowing Into the Field of Love – Iceage
    2. Burn Your Fire For No Witness – Angel Olsen
    3. Quartz – Fly Golden Eagle
    4. S/T – Bonfire Beach

  4. Easy:

    1. Whirr – Sway
    2. Nothing – Guilty of Everything
    3. Have a Nice Life – The Unnatural World

    Not so easy:

    4. Godflesh – A World Lit Only By Fire
    4.000000001. Blueneck – King Nine

    1. Damn fine selections. All of which I need to hear more of. It’s one of the great things about compiling this kind of list – so many great choices that demand further investigation. Thanks.

  5. This is never easy, and I’m always wrong… (I vowed to myself to never do this again years ago, yet here I am) so … 1. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma “Songs Of Forgiveness” (Baro), 2. MV & EE “Alpha Lyrae” (Child Of Microtones), 3. Janek Schaefer “Unfolding Luxury Beyond The City Of Dreams” (Dekorder), 4. Arp “Pulsars e Quasars” (Mexican Summer) +1 more, Golden Retriever “Seer” (Thrill Jockey).

Leave a Reply

