Announcing LGM’s Favourite Album Of 2014, Just A Few Months Early

3 thoughts on “Announcing LGM’s Favourite Album Of 2014, Just A Few Months Early”

  1. I’m glad you weren’t as disappointed with it as I was, given that you are obviously a more astute fan of his work. I do enjoy the musicianship of the album but found it hard to hear it sometimes over the socio-political “hectoring”, which I found a bit too obvious on a few songs here. It seemed to me that he has dispensed with subtlety altogether.

    1. “Astute” – no. “Irrevocably devoted” is probably a better phrase. Maybe even to the point where any pretence at objectivity is lots amidst the gladioli. Fandom has a habit of doing such a thing. C’est la vie.

      I do understand how many have issues with the animal-related polemic that always arrives upon a Morrissey LP; for reasons not worth going into here I’ve always agreed with the sentiment (if not necessarily the endless recycling of theme)… but I don’t think he overplays his ‘Meat Is Murder’ hand in this instance (one highly overt lyric on ‘I’m Not A Man’ excepted). I’d even go as far to argue that at times his words veer into rich, TS Eliot territory – short bursts of fire that compel – but as admitted, I’m biased.

      1. Perhaps I’ll have to give it another go. I just wasn’t feeling it like I did for “You are the quarry”.

Leave a comment